Jump To中央區塊/Main Content :::
Brief History

Brief History

The Institute of Mathematics was established in 1947 in Kunming, China. The Institute's first director was Dr. Jiang Li Fu, with world renowned mathematician Dr. S.S. Chern serving as acting director in Shanghai. The Institute relocated to Taiwan in 1949, as research activities almost came to a standstill due to the difficulties caused by unstable political circumstances. When the situation improved a few years later, the Institute immediately began training younger talents. Within a few years, staff members of the Institute began pursuing research in many areas of pure and applied mathematics. When Dr. Y.S. Chow assumed the directorship in 1970, efforts were made to improve the funding of research as well as to extend research activities to include Probability and Statistics. Since 1978, under the directorship of Dr. Ky Fan, emphasis has been put on fundamental research (this being possible with the increase of research funding following the first Five-Year Plan of the Academia Sinica). Between 1984 and the conclusion of the third Five-year plan in 1996, research areas in the Institute have been rapidly expanded to include many major areas of mathematics. At the same time, facilities have improved significantly during that period.

In December of 2009 the Institute of Mathematics moved to the newly completed Astronomy-Mathematics building located on the main campus of the National Taiwan University. The building is shared with the Institute of Astronomy and Astrophysics, the Departments of Mathematics and of Astronomy of the National Taiwan University, creating a center of intense mathematical activities in Taipei. Over the years, the Institute of Mathematics has continued to nurture mathematical talents in Taiwan through its extensive post-doc, research assistant, and summer school programs.


Hong Jing Chou Acting Director, 1949-1957    
C. B. Ling Director, 1960-1963
Shih-Chao Liu Acting Director, 1963-1963
Chen-Jung Hsu Acting Director, 1963-1965
Shih-Chao Liu Acting Director, 1965-1970
Yuan-Shih Chow Director, 1970-1977
Fon-Che Liu Director, 1977-1978
Ky Fan Director, 1978-1984
Fon-Che Liu Director, 1984-1986
Ko-Wei Lih Director, 1987-1993
Chii-Ruey Hwang Director, 1993-1996
Fon-Che Liu Director, 1996-2000
Tai-Ping Liu Director, 2000-2004
Jih-Hsin Cheng Acting Director, 2004-2006
Tai-Ping Liu Director, 2006-2012
Ching-Li Chai Acting Director, 2012-2013
Shun-Jen Cheng Acting Director, 2013-2015
Shun-Jen Cheng Director, 2015-2018
Shun-Jen Cheng Acting Director, 2018-2020
Yuan-Pin Lee Director, 2020-2023
Shun-Jen Cheng Acting Director, 2023-2024
Yuan-Pin Lee Director, 2024-2027